Saturday , May 15 2021

Flickr reduces free storage – From 1,000 gigabytes to 1,000 images



The Flickr web service has been for many years the favorite for photographers who wanted to present their photos to the rest of the world and five years ago the company came up with a solid celebration: 1 terabyte of free cloud storage.

With a typical image size of 4-5 MB per file, more than 200,000 full resolution images fit – in front of competing services at this time, although Google recently launched Google Photo as its own service, with specific restrictions (images over 16Mp and 1080p video will be reduced) can upload unlimited photos and videos without paying for you.

Strong reduction in free offer

Yahoo! bought Flickr in 2005, but sold the service earlier this year to the Smugmug competing service. And now the new owners have decided that Flickr's free offer must be significantly reduced:

Previously, 1 TB of free space was now limited to 1,000 images.

If you need more than that, the service offers unlimited storage space of $ 50 per year (over $ 400), which also includes display statistics of this kind.

Asks users to clean up

What if you have saved over 1,000 photos on Flickr and do not want to pay to use the service? Then you have to clean yourself.

8 January 2019 is the first date for notification. From this day, users with more than 1,000 images in the Flickr file and who do not pay for themselves will lose the ability to upload more content.

In other words, if you have so many pictures stored on Flickr and will continue to use the service, you will have to pay for the subscription at that time. If you participate before 30 November, you have a 30% discount.

But on February 5, 2019, Flickr pushes the red button:

If you do not pay for it and have more than 1,000 images stored on Flickr servers, the service will automatically delete all of your account images, except for the 1,000 uploaded recently.

DOWNLOAD ALBUM: Pressing the download icon in an album, you can download all the images to the elbow in a zip file. Screenshot: Pål Joakim Pollen
DRAWING ALBUMS: By tapping the download icon in an album, you can download all the images on the elbow of a zip file. Screenshot: Pål Joakim Pollen
Show more

If you want to take care of them, then you have to upload them from Flickr servers at that time. You can do this with a photo or album.

To download all items at once, there is an option in the account settings – "My Flickr Data Request" on the bottom right.

Flickr warns that this will take some time to get an email link to download when everything is done.

You may then need to upload to another service if you need a backup in the cloud.

PS! Flickr will not delete Creative Commons licensed images (allowing others to use them), so they are protected. Note that if you have already published these permissions – it does not help you sign in now and change your permission to avoid deleting.


Source link