Wednesday , January 20 2021

MPI: Forecasters biosecurity

New Zealand Biosafety today announced the New Zealand Bios Security Award winners 2018.

Environment The Southland Fiordland Marine Corridor Management Plan has won the top prize, New Zealand's highest biosafety award. Their work also received the local and central government award for New Zealand biosafety technology.

The Fiordland Marine Pathway Management Plan, the first of its kind in New Zealand, aims to protect one of New Zealand's most unique and nationally important areas of marine parasites that are transported to local and visiting vessels.

"The New Zealand Biosafety Awards celebrate iwi, environmental organizations, scientific service providers, community groups, local, regional and central government agencies working hard to ensure that Aotearoa is safe from parasites and diseases," said Roger Smith, head of Biosecurity New Zealand.

"Their enchanting mahi is fundamental to keeping the biosecurity system strong and putting hard yards on a daily basis to ensure that we continue to have a global bio-security system."

The prize winners included a wide variety of biosecurity projects, from the protection of the New Zealand kiwi industry, the superiority of biosafety in Tauranga moana to the improvement of kako results, and even innovative products such as a portable cleaning system footwear.

"This year saw a record high-caliber record, making it very difficult for the award judges (chaired by Dr. John Hellstrom) to choose these winners," said Roger Smith.

"These awards are an extremely important opportunity, as they provide a moment of pause to devote time to recognizing and honoring the important achievements that are taking place within our biosecurity system.

The New Zealand Biosafety Prize winners show that biosecurity is not only dependent on Biosecurity New Zealand. Each New Zealander has a role to play in preventing parasites and diseases from reaching New Zealand or helping to stop their spread. We all get to protect what we have, "said Roger Smith.

The full list of New Zealand Biosafety Award winners is:

New Zealand Biofeedback Community Prize – Pirongia Te Aroaro o Kahu Rehabilitation Society

New Zealand Biosafety Industry Award GIA – Vine Kiwi Health

New Zealand Biological Diversity Science Award for Scion: New Zealand Institute of Forensic Science

New Zealand Biosecurity AsureQuality Emerging Leader Award – Dr. Amanda Black

New Zealand Biosecurity Te Puni KA kiri MÄ ori Prize – Te R n nanga o Ng Te Te Rangi Iwi Trust

New Zealand Eagle Bios Security Technology Local and Central Government Southland Prize – Environment

New Zealand International Biosafety Innovation Award – Jacson3 Limited

New Zealand Biosafety Award – Southland Environment

Biosafety Award of the Minister – Greg Corbett

To learn more, visit

Source link